## LEICESTERSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIRMEN AND GROUP SPOKESMEN/SPOKESPERSONS – MAY 2003

Committee/Subcommittee	<u>Conservative Spokesman</u>	Labour Spokesperson	<u>Liberal Democrat Spokesman</u>
THE SCRUTINY COMMISSION	Mr N J Rushton CC	Mr N J Brown CC (Chairman)	Mr S J Galton CC
SCRUTINY COMMITTEES:-A.EducationB.Health and Social CareC.Highways Transportation and WasteD.Community ServicesE.Resources	Prof M E Preston CC Mr P C Osborne CC (Chairman elect) Mr R Jenkins CC Mr B Chapman AE CC Mr M B Page CC (Chairman elect)	Dr M O'Callaghan CC Mr P Hyde CC Mr D R Bown CC (Chairman elect) Mr S D Sheahan (Chairman elect) Mr M T Jones CC	Mrs V P Bill CC (Chairman elect) Mr M Griffiths CC Mr D C Bill CC Mr O D Lucas CC Mr R M Wilson CC
<u>REGULATORY BODIES:-</u> Development Control and Regulatory Board Standards Committee Constitution Committee Employment Committee Pension Fund Management Board	Mr D Jennings CC (Chairman elect) Mrs C E Brock CC (Chairman elect) Mr D R Parsons CC (Chairman elect) Mr R M Miller CC (Chairman elect) Mr M B Page CC	Mr G H Perkins CC Mr C A Stanley CC Mr M T Jones CC Mr MT Jones CC Mr N J Brown CC	Mr D C Bill CC Mr R M Wilson CC Mr S Galton CC Dr D Pollard CC Mr O D Lucas CC

## **Chairmanships**

The Council's Constitution makes provision for

- (a) the Leader of the largest opposition party to be ex officio the Chairman of the Scrutiny Commission;
- (b) the Chairmanship of the Scrutiny Committees to be shared on the basis of 50% to the opposition group(s) and 50% to group(s) forming the current political administration.

The remaining appointments of Chairman and Deputy Chairman are matters to be determined by the bodies themselves, but the nominations are usually reported to the Council, (shown as 'Chairman elect').