Overview of Council and Committees

The County Council’s democratic structure is based on a Leader and Cabinet model and is made up of 55 democratically elected County Councillors. Further details of how they are elected, the meetings they attend and the decision making process are set out in our Council and Democracy webpages

County Council

The full County Council agrees the Budget, Plans and Strategies that form the Policy Framework; appoints the Leader; agrees the Constitution and also the composition and appointments to committees.


The Cabinet carries out all of the executive functions of the Authority within the framework agreed by the Council. Non executive functions are matters for other bodies (see below).

Find out more about the Leader of the Council, Cabinet, the role and functions of its Lead Members at our Cabinet webpage.

Overview and Scrutiny

The role of overview and scrutiny committees include holding the Executive to account, putting forward proposals to develop and improve policy, and review and scrutinise the performance of other public bodies in the area.


Further information about overview and scrutiny can be found via the overview and scrutiny webpages.


These bodies have responsibility for carrying out non-executive ‘County Council’ functions.

Partnership Bodies

The Council works in partnership with a number of other public sector organisations to improve the wellbeing of its citizens and the efficiency of its services.

Eastern Shires Purchasing Organisation

The Eastern Shires Purchasing Organisation (ESPO) is a local authority purchasing consortium made up of the following six local authorities: Cambridgeshire County Council, Leicestershire County Council, Lincolnshire County Council, Norfolk County Council, Peterborough City Council and Warwickshire County Council.


Its role is to provide its members and other client bodies with a comprehensive cost-effective contracting and procurement service through a diverse range of commodities, products and services.


ESPO is governed by the ESPO Management Committee, and the Finance and Audit Subcommittee. Further details for which can be found below and in the Constitution of the ESPO Management Committee.